Our Board

The current Board of the Health and Safety Authority was appointed in December 2019 by the Minister of State at the Department of Jobs Enterprise and Innovation (DBEI), Mr Pat Breen TD.

The Chairperson of the Board is Mr. Tom Coughlan.

The Board that is now in place is for the period 2020 to 2022.

Tom CoughlanFormer Chief Executive, Clare County Council (2009 -2016).
Employer Nominees
Andrew BowersDirector Operational Excellence, EMS at Baxter Healthcare Corporation. IBEC.
Paul KellyDirector Food Drink Ireland
Frank KellyDirector Walls Construction
Employee Nominees
David HughesDeputy General Secretary INMO
Deirdre McDonaldPresident ASTI
Michelle QuinnDeputy Chairperson, Sector Organiser Services Division SIPTU
Minister’s Nominees
Deirdre CullivanHR Consultant
Stephen CurranPrincipal Officer in the Department of Business, Enterprise and Innovation
Three more Ministerial appointments are currently being processed by the Department of Business, Enterprise and Innovation.